Professional Art Studies
Contemporary Chinese Art New

Conversation with the Past
Cultural Symbols – Resolving Confrontation between East & West
Power of Cultural Artifacts
Hong Kong Ink
Course Code 18-PS000006-1AP
Tutor

Halley Cheng

Date 5, 12, 19, 26 /10/2018 (Friday)
Time 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Lesson 4 (in 4 days)
Holiday Nil
Description

The revision of ink significantly built up Contemporary Chinese art from fragmented history, lead to a prevailing anew ink movement. This course consists of both lecture and studio classes. Lecture tends to introduce movements from 1966-1989, featuring influential ink figures and artworks. In studio classes, students shall receive assignment based on the cross-disciplined ink experiment introduced in the course.

Language Cantonese
Fee HKD 1600
Enrolment Please refer to Enrolment Information

 

Tutor: Halley Cheng

Cheng received his Bachelor of Arts (Fine Arts) from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2008 and Master of Visual Arts from the Hong Kong Baptist University in 2012. Cheng has recently been exhibited in London, Basel, Miami, Jakarta, Hong Kong, Taipei and Guangzhou, including Art Basel 2016 & 2013, Insights solo exhibition, Past is Continuing in HongKong Heritage Museum, START Art Fair 2014 in Saatchi Gallery, Art Taipei 2013 and The Spirit of Ink in Sotheby`s Hong Kong Gallery(2013). Cheng has been awarded numerous prizes including the Clifton’s Art Price(2014), Jakarta Art Award(2011), Asian Contemporary Art Show Young Artist Award – Grand Prize(2012) and Philippe Charriol Competition Winner(2006). His works are widely collected by The Bank of China, Hong Kong Heritage Museum, Philippe Charriol Foundation, Cliftons Ltd, Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, The Peninsula Shanghai Waitan Hotel, Hotel Stage and private collectors.

 

 

Course Code 18-PS000007-1AP
Tutor

Halley Cheng

Date 9, 16, 23, 30 /10/2018 (Tuesday)
Time 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Lesson 4 (in 4 days)
Holiday Nil
Description

Ink tradition had never been so radically restudied after the Cultural Revolution. Cross-breeding between ink and western art marks the history in contemporary art development. This course consists of both lecture and studio classes. Lecture tends to introduce ink attempts from 1989-post 90s, featuring influential ink figures and artworks. In studio classes, there will be assignment based on the cross-disciplined ink experiment introduced in this course.

Language Cantonese
Fee HKD 1600
Enrolment Please refer to Enrolment Information

 

Tutor: Halley Cheng

Cheng received his Bachelor of Arts (Fine Arts) from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2008 and Master of Visual Arts from the Hong Kong Baptist University in 2012. Cheng has recently been exhibited in London, Basel, Miami, Jakarta, Hong Kong, Taipei and Guangzhou, including Art Basel 2016 & 2013, Insights solo exhibition, Past is Continuing in HongKong Heritage Museum, START Art Fair 2014 in Saatchi Gallery, Art Taipei 2013 and The Spirit of Ink in Sotheby`s Hong Kong Gallery(2013). Cheng has been awarded numerous prizes including the Clifton’s Art Price(2014), Jakarta Art Award(2011), Asian Contemporary Art Show Young Artist Award – Grand Prize(2012) and Philippe Charriol Competition Winner(2006). His works are widely collected by The Bank of China, Hong Kong Heritage Museum, Philippe Charriol Foundation, Cliftons Ltd, Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, The Peninsula Shanghai Waitan Hotel, Hotel Stage and private collectors.

 

 

Course Code

18-PS000008-1AP
Tutor

Halley Cheng

Date 6, 13, 27 / 11 & 4/12/2018 (Tuesday)
Time 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Lesson 4 (in 4 days)
Holiday 20/11/2018 (Tue)
Description

The revision of ink significantly built up Contemporary Chinese art from fragmented history, lead to a prevailing anew ink movement. This course consists of both lecture and studio classes. Lecture tends to focus on ink development after the Millennium when contemporary ink entered into the scope of international art. In studio classes, there will be assignment based on the cross-disciplined ink installation introduced in the course.

Language Cantonese
Fee HKD 1600
Enrolment Please refer to Enrolment Information

 

Tutor: Halley Cheng

Cheng received his Bachelor of Arts (Fine Arts) from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2008 and Master of Visual Arts from the Hong Kong Baptist University in 2012. Cheng has recently been exhibited in London, Basel, Miami, Jakarta, Hong Kong, Taipei and Guangzhou, including Art Basel 2016 & 2013, Insights solo exhibition, Past is Continuing in HongKong Heritage Museum, START Art Fair 2014 in Saatchi Gallery, Art Taipei 2013 and The Spirit of Ink in Sotheby`s Hong Kong Gallery(2013). Cheng has been awarded numerous prizes including the Clifton’s Art Price(2014), Jakarta Art Award(2011), Asian Contemporary Art Show Young Artist Award – Grand Prize(2012) and Philippe Charriol Competition Winner(2006). His works are widely collected by The Bank of China, Hong Kong Heritage Museum, Philippe Charriol Foundation, Cliftons Ltd, Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, The Peninsula Shanghai Waitan Hotel, Hotel Stage and private collectors.

 

 

Course Code 18-PS000009-1AP
Tutor

Halley Cheng

Date 9, 23, 30/11 & 7/12/2018 (Friday)
Time 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Lesson 4 (in 4 days)
Holiday 16/11/2018 (Fri)
Description

Ink tradition had been well preserved in this city and mutated into its unique character. This course introduces the 3 stages of ink development in Hong Kong; the first generation rooting the ink tradition in Hong Kong(Lui Shou Kwan), the post-war generation including Wucius Wong and Irene Chou absorb and interpret their concepts of ink. The third generation of emerging artists continues their ink studies under the blooming art infrastructures and resources. Students would create artworks corresponding to the particular stage of ink development in Hong Kong.

Language Cantonese
Fee  HKD 1600
Enrolment Please refer to Enrolment Information

 

Tutor: Halley Cheng

Cheng received his Bachelor of Arts (Fine Arts) from the Chinese University of Hong Kong in 2008 and Master of Visual Arts from the Hong Kong Baptist University in 2012. Cheng has recently been exhibited in London, Basel, Miami, Jakarta, Hong Kong, Taipei and Guangzhou, including Art Basel 2016 & 2013, Insights solo exhibition, Past is Continuing in HongKong Heritage Museum, START Art Fair 2014 in Saatchi Gallery, Art Taipei 2013 and The Spirit of Ink in Sotheby`s Hong Kong Gallery(2013). Cheng has been awarded numerous prizes including the Clifton’s Art Price(2014), Jakarta Art Award(2011), Asian Contemporary Art Show Young Artist Award – Grand Prize(2012) and Philippe Charriol Competition Winner(2006). His works are widely collected by The Bank of China, Hong Kong Heritage Museum, Philippe Charriol Foundation, Cliftons Ltd, Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, The Peninsula Shanghai Waitan Hotel, Hotel Stage and private collectors.

 

 

Course Code 18-PS0000010-1AP
Tutor

Sophie Hu

Date

8, 15, 22, 29/10/2018 (Monday)

Time 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Lesson 4 (in 4 days)
Holiday Nil
Description

With its deep root in traditional Chinese culture, and its diverse avant-garde forms, contemporary ink combines the past and the present, catching the attentions from the academia and the market: in the year of 2014, The Metropolitan Museum of Art hosted its first ever ink show “Ink Art: Past in the Present in Contemporary China”; In 2015, top auction houses as Christie’s and Sotheby’s established independent departments dedicating to the development of contemporary ink market.

Under that light, this course will investigate the reasons behind the rising of contemporary ink market from political, economic, and academic perspectives. We will as well explore together the significant contemporary ink artists from Hong Kong, Taipei, and Mainland China.

Language English
Fee HKD 1600
Enrolment Please refer to Enrolment Information

 

Tutor: Sophie Hu, Art Learning Development Director, HKAC

Sophie Hu has rich teaching experience -- in addition to leading the Art Learning programmes at HKAC, Sophie is also the Art Education Consultant for brands and corporates such as Cartier, Blancpain, and The International New York Times, providing Art Appreciation & Investment courses for their top clients as well as senior managers. Before joining the Centre, Sophie served at Christie’s Education Asia and was in charge of curriculum design, research, lectures, and developing collaborations with art institutions. She designed programmes and lectured for the EMBA class of top business schools, including China Europe International Business School (CIEBS) and Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business (CKGSB), in addition to clients of Christie’s auction house.

In conjunction with the Shanghai Museum, Sophie Hu was one of the editors of Chen Hongshou and Cui Zizhong – Two Master Painters from Ming Dynasty China, and her exhibition reviews were published in professional art media, including The Art NewsPaper. Sophie Hu obtained her BA from The University of Hong Kong and MA from Boston University.

 

 

Course Code 18-PS0000011-1AP
Tutor

Sophie Hu

Date

4, 11, 18/10 & 1/11/2018 (Thursday)

Time 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Lesson 4 (in 4 days)
Holiday 25/10/2018 (Thursday)
Description

With its deep root in traditional Chinese culture, and its diverse avant-garde forms, contemporary ink combines the past and the present, catching the attentions from the academia and the market: in the year of 2014, The Metropolitan Museum of Art hosted its first ever ink show “Ink Art: Past in the Present in Contemporary China”; In 2015, top auction houses as Christie’s and Sotheby’s established independent departments dedicating to the development of contemporary ink market.

Under that light, this course will investigate the reasons behind the rising of contemporary ink market from political, economic, and academic perspectives. We will as well explore together the significant contemporary ink artists from Hong Kong, Taipei, and Mainland China.

Language Mandarin
Fee HKD 1600
Enrolment Please refer to Enrolment Information

 

Tutor: Sophie Hu, Art Learning Development Director, HKAC

Sophie Hu has rich teaching experience -- in addition to leading the Art Learning programmes at HKAC, Sophie is also the Art Education Consultant for brands and corporates such as Cartier, Blancpain, and The International New York Times, providing Art Appreciation & Investment courses for their top clients as well as senior managers. Before joining the Centre, Sophie served at Christie’s Education Asia and was in charge of curriculum design, research, lectures, and developing collaborations with art institutions. She designed programmes and lectured for the EMBA class of top business schools, including China Europe International Business School (CIEBS) and Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business (CKGSB), in addition to clients of Christie’s auction house.

In conjunction with the Shanghai Museum, Sophie Hu was one of the editors of Chen Hongshou and Cui Zizhong – Two Master Painters from Ming Dynasty China, and her exhibition reviews were published in professional art media, including The Art NewsPaper. Sophie Hu obtained her BA from The University of Hong Kong and MA from Boston University.

藝術專業進修
當代中國藝術

與過去對話
文化符號ー解開東西方二元對立
文化人工品的力量
香港水墨發展
課程編號 18-PS000006-1AP
導師

鄭哈雷

日期 5, 12, 19, 26 /10/2018 (逢星期五)
時期 7:00pm – 9:00pm
堂數 4 (四天內進行)
假期
內容 對傳統的重新審視讓水墨藝術從斷續的歷史洪流中建立新的立腳點,引發新一浪藝術革命。水墨與政治圖騰持續成為中國當代藝術的兩大核心。本課程會從理論和實踐兩方面讓學員了解文革後的水墨實驗發展,包括推動人物與重要運動。學員將以課程內容為基礎進行跨媒介水墨實驗。
教學語言 粵語
費用 HKD 1600
報名 請參閱報名須知

 

導師: 鄭哈雷

2008年畢業於中文大學藝術系,2012年於香港浸會大學取得視覺藝術碩士學位,現居香港。鄭氏近年於倫敦、巴塞爾、邁阿密、爪哇、香港、台北及廣州展出,包括香港巴塞爾藝術展2016及2013亞洲視野個展、時間遊人於香港文化博物館、START Art Fair 2014於倫敦Saatchi Gallery、台北國際藝術博覽會2013、The Spirit of Ink於香港蘇富比畫廊。曾獲獎項包括Clifton's藝術奬2014、雅加達藝術獎2010、亞洲當代藝術展2012—傑出藝術家獎、夏利豪基金會藝術獎2006。作品被中國銀行香港、香港文化博物館、夏利豪基金會、Cliftons有限公司、香港君悅酒店、上海半島酒店、登臺及私人收藏。

 

 

課程編號 18-PS000007-1AP
導師

鄭哈雷

日期 9, 16, 23, 30 /10/2018 (逢星期二)
時期 7:00pm – 9:00pm
堂數 4 (四天內進行)
假期
內容 文革後,水墨道統被徹底重新研究,並受當時蓬勃的西方藝術思潮影響,碰撞出中國當代藝術的雛型。本課程會從理論和實踐兩方面讓學員了解後89年代的水墨運動,包括推動人物與重要作品。學員將以課程內容為基礎進行跨媒介水墨實驗。  
教學語言 粵語
費用 HKD 1600
報名 請參閱報名須知

 

導師: 鄭哈雷

2008年畢業於中文大學藝術系,2012年於香港浸會大學取得視覺藝術碩士學位,現居香港。鄭氏近年於倫敦、巴塞爾、邁阿密、爪哇、香港、台北及廣州展出,包括香港巴塞爾藝術展2016及2013亞洲視野個展、時間遊人於香港文化博物館、START Art Fair 2014於倫敦Saatchi Gallery、台北國際藝術博覽會2013、The Spirit of Ink於香港蘇富比畫廊。曾獲獎項包括Clifton's藝術奬2014、雅加達藝術獎2010、亞洲當代藝術展2012—傑出藝術家獎、夏利豪基金會藝術獎2006。作品被中國銀行香港、香港文化博物館、夏利豪基金會、Cliftons有限公司、香港君悅酒店、上海半島酒店、登臺及私人收藏。

 

課程編號 18-PS000008-1AP
導師

鄭哈雷

日期 6, 13, 27 / 11 及 4/12/2018 (逢星期二)
時期 7:00pm – 9:00pm
堂數 4 (四天內進行)
假期 20/11/2018 (二)
內容 對傳統的重新審視讓水墨藝術從斷續的歷史洪流中建立新的立腳點,引發新一浪藝術革命。本課程會從理論和實踐兩方面讓學員了解千禧後的水墨發展,並聚焦於當代水墨進入國際藝術舞台後的演變。學員將以課程內容為基礎進行跨媒介水墨實驗。
教學語言 粵語
費用 HKD 1600
報名 請參閱報名須知

 

導師: 鄭哈雷

2008年畢業於中文大學藝術系,2012年於香港浸會大學取得視覺藝術碩士學位,現居香港。鄭氏近年於倫敦、巴塞爾、邁阿密、爪哇、香港、台北及廣州展出,包括香港巴塞爾藝術展2016及2013亞洲視野個展、時間遊人於香港文化博物館、START Art Fair 2014於倫敦Saatchi Gallery、台北國際藝術博覽會2013、The Spirit of Ink於香港蘇富比畫廊。曾獲獎項包括Clifton's藝術奬2014、雅加達藝術獎2010、亞洲當代藝術展2012—傑出藝術家獎、夏利豪基金會藝術獎2006。作品被中國銀行香港、香港文化博物館、夏利豪基金會、Cliftons有限公司、香港君悅酒店、上海半島酒店、登臺及私人收藏。

 

課程編號 18-PS000009-1AP
導師

鄭哈雷

日期 9, 23, 30/11 及 7/12/2018 (逢星期五)
時期 7:00pm – 9:00pm
堂數 4 (四天內進行)
假期 16/11/2018 (五)
內容 上世紀水墨傳統得以在香港生根,並發展成獨特的視覺語言及文化。本課程將以三代人角度審視香港水墨發展;第一代(呂壽琨)在港教授水墨,培育出如黃無邪、周緑雲等的水墨第二代,並演繹出個人色彩的水墨概念。第三代藝術家則在前人基建及當代資源下探討水墨。學員將以香港水墨發展為基礎進行創作。
教學語言 粵語
費用 HKD 1600
報名 請參閱報名須知

 

導師: 鄭哈雷

2008年畢業於中文大學藝術系,2012年於香港浸會大學取得視覺藝術碩士學位,現居香港。鄭氏近年於倫敦、巴塞爾、邁阿密、爪哇、香港、台北及廣州展出,包括香港巴塞爾藝術展2016及2013亞洲視野個展、時間遊人於香港文化博物館、START Art Fair 2014於倫敦Saatchi Gallery、台北國際藝術博覽會2013、The Spirit of Ink於香港蘇富比畫廊。曾獲獎項包括Clifton's藝術奬2014、雅加達藝術獎2010、亞洲當代藝術展2012—傑出藝術家獎、夏利豪基金會藝術獎2006。作品被中國銀行香港、香港文化博物館、夏利豪基金會、Cliftons有限公司、香港君悅酒店、上海半島酒店、登臺及私人收藏。

 

課程編號 18-PS0000010-1AP
導師

胡玥

日期 8, 15, 22, 29/10/2018 (逢星期一)
時期 7:00pm – 9:00pm
堂數 4 (四天內進行)
假期
內容

當代水墨憑其與中國傳統文化的深厚淵源、前衛而多樣化的表達形式,不但融合古今,更引起了學術界與藝術市場的廣泛關注:2013年,大都會博物館首次舉辦當代水墨大展《水墨藝術:借古說今中國當代藝術》;2014年,頂級拍賣行佳士得與蘇富比創立單獨部門開拓當代水墨市場。本課程將探索當代水墨市場興起背後的原因,並從政治、經濟、學術等角度進行分析。我們亦會共同探討香港、臺灣、中國大陸的重要水墨藝術家。

教學語言 英語
費用 HKD 1600
報名 請參閱報名須知

 

導師:胡玥(Sophie HU)香港藝術中心拓展總監(藝術教育)

胡玥具有丰富的教學經驗:在香港藝術中心擔任教職之餘,亦兼任卡地亞(Cartier)以及紐約時報(International New York Times)藝術顧問,為其內部高管與重要客戶提供藝術欣賞、投資、市場運作等教育項目。胡玥曾於佳士得美術學院(亞洲區)任職,負責課程設計、研究與教學,並發展與藝術機構的合作。在美院期間,她多次未中歐商學院總裁班、長江商學院總裁班、以及佳士得藏家客戶定製課程、藝術之旅、藝術家分享會等活動。胡玥參與編譔了《南陳北崔:故宮博物院上海博物館藏陳洪綬崔子忠書畫集》,並在《藝術新聞》、《SCOPE藝術客》等專業媒體發表展評。胡玥於香港大學獲取藝術史學士,後在波士頓大學獲得藝術史碩士學位。研究方向包括中國當代藝術、藝術市場分析、藝術生態運作等。

 

 

 

 

課程編號 18-PS0000011-1AP
導師

胡玥

日期 4, 11, 18/10 及 1/11/2018 (逢星期四)
時期 7:00pm – 9:00pm
堂數 4 (四天內進行)
假期 25/10/2018 (四)
內容

當代水墨憑其與中國傳統文化的深厚淵源、前衛而多樣化的表達形式,不但融合古今,更引起了學術界與藝術市場的廣泛關注:2013年,大都會博物館首次舉辦當代水墨大展《水墨藝術:借古說今中國當代藝術》;2014年,頂級拍賣行佳士得與蘇富比創立單獨部門開拓當代水墨市場。本課程將探索當代水墨市場興起背後的原因,並從政治、經濟、學術等角度進行分析。我們亦會共同探討香港、臺灣、中國大陸的重要水墨藝術家。

教學語言 國語
費用 HKD 1600
報名 請參閱報名須知

 

導師:胡玥(Sophie HU)香港藝術中心拓展總監(藝術教育)

胡玥具有丰富的教學經驗:在香港藝術中心擔任教職之餘,亦兼任卡地亞(Cartier)以及紐約時報(International New York Times)藝術顧問,為其內部高管與重要客戶提供藝術欣賞、投資、市場運作等教育項目。胡玥曾於佳士得美術學院(亞洲區)任職,負責課程設計、研究與教學,並發展與藝術機構的合作。在美院期間,她多次未中歐商學院總裁班、長江商學院總裁班、以及佳士得藏家客戶定製課程、藝術之旅、藝術家分享會等活動。胡玥參與編譔了《南陳北崔:故宮博物院上海博物館藏陳洪綬崔子忠書畫集》,並在《藝術新聞》、《SCOPE藝術客》等專業媒體發表展評。胡玥於香港大學獲取藝術史學士,後在波士頓大學獲得藝術史碩士學位。研究方向包括中國當代藝術、藝術市場分析、藝術生態運作等。