Student Work
INCITE - Bachelor of Arts (Fine Art) Graduation Exhibition 2016 | Exhibition held: 24/1-15/2/16

 

 

Upon the announcement of The Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) University in partnership with Hong Kong Art School (HKAS), the Bachelor of Arts (Fine Art) class of 2016 opened their graduation exhibition with a reception on the evening of 23 January 2016, marking the 18th year of the programme. The exhibition took place at the Hong Kong Arts Centre, recognised as a local arts incubator, in Wan Chai and held in the prestigious Pao Galleries, a gallery space known for housing world-class art events. It showcased 46 graduating artists' work, which was the culmination of over a year of research, planning and execution.

The student's fine art education had taken place during a dynamic period for Hong Kong and indeed the world. Capturing the spirit of the current age, the exhibition title, INCITE - a word often used to describe rebellion or movement into action – reflected the distinct energy they had harnessed into their work over the past three years of the programme. The exhibition incorporated new perspectives, it questioned the status quo and it showcased the pursuit of new ways of thinking, seeing and doing through artistic expression. The collective work was meant to stir up emotion and to provoke the viewer into finding deeper meaning beyond aesthetics through their contemporary interpretations as the new generation of Hong Kong artists.

Inspired by rigorous, multidisciplinary training, the class presented work across three major media: ceramics, painting and photography. Each piece on display was a reflection of the knowledge gained through the research and practice-based learning provided at RMIT and HKAS. Dr Edwin Lai, HKAS Programme Coordinator and esteemed curator, noted: "I eagerly look forward to seeing this exhibition; there are so many students of great potential in this cohort."

Celebrating its 18th anniversary, the Bachelor of Arts (Fine Art) program is truly a unique cross-cultural offering, attracting local and international students from all walks of life, each with a distinct perspective and voice. HKAS and RMIT's collaborative programme offers aspiring Hong Kong artists and creatives the ability to receive an internationally recognised Bachelor of Arts (Fine Art) degree from a top-tier university.

The exhibition was made possible through generous support from the headlining sponsor, Burger Collection Hong Kong, with additional backing from major sponsors including Aesop, Asia One Integrated Communications Services, Celebrity Cruises, Hanart TZ Gallery, Nikon, Spring Workshop, from contributing sponsors, Alison Pickett Corporate Art & Sculpture Consultants and Jebsen Co. Ltd., from beverage sponsor Hong Kong Beer Co. and from paper sponsor Polytrade Paper Co. Ltd.


INCITE - Bachelor of Arts (Fine Art) Graduation Exhibition 2016

Artist: 46 graduating students from the Bachelor of Arts (Fine Art) programme 

Date: 24 January to 15 February 2016*

*The gallery was closed in observance of Chinese New Year from 8 to 10 February 2016

Time: 10am to 8pm Daily

Venue: Pao Galleries, 4/F-5/F Hong Kong Arts Centre, 2 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong

Remarks: Free Admission

學生作品
喚.煥 - 藝術文學士畢業展2016 | 展覽已於24/1-15/2/16舉行

澳洲皇家墨爾本理工大學(RMIT University)與香港藝術學院(Hong Kong Art School)宣布其合辦的藝術文學士課程之應屆畢業生於2016年1月23日(六)舉辦其畢業展覽之開幕儀式,亦以此同時標誌著課程已踏入第18個年頭。展覽設於灣仔被譽為本地藝術培養地的香港藝術中心—包氏畫廊。畫廊曾舉辦多個國際級藝術展覽,而是次則展示46位藝術畢業生三年來累積的學習成果。

在學習藝術的旅程中,學生們剛好碰上香港乃至世界一個較多湧浪的時期。為求捕捉當下的精神,特意設主題為「INCITE」,以配合其過去三年投放於學習藝術創作的鮮明力量。中文取名《喚.煥》;取其喚起﹑煥然之意。這個展覽注入了新的觀點,對現狀作出提問。以藝術的角度追求新的思維丶觀看方式和創作模式。以新生代各自的一套視覺語言,透過藝術作品喚起觀眾的情感及發掘作品深層意念的衝動。

啟發自各媒介的訓練,畢業生們主要透過陶藝丶繪畫丶攝影展示作品。獲益自實驗性創作的學習模式,每件展出的作品都反映著學生對事物的認知與直觀上的理解。課程統籌及策展人黎健強博士形容:「我非常期待這次展覽;這群學生之中,很多位都極具潛質。」

步入第18週年,藝術文學士課程給予了一個獨特的跨文化平台,吸引來自本地及國際與步入了不同人生階段的畢業生們以藝術為首聚首一堂;每一位都帶著截然不同的視野和聲音。

這次展覽得以順利舉行,同時有賴領銜贊助機構Burger Collection Hong Kong以及主要贊助機構包括: Aesop﹑Asia One宏亞傳訊集團﹑菁英遊輪﹑漢雅軒畫廊﹑尼康香港有限公司﹑Spring工作室和贊助機構Alison Pickett藝術及雕塑顧問、捷成集團、香港啤酒有限公司及友邦洋紙有限公司的慷慨支持。


喚 ‧ 煥 - 藝術文學士畢業展2016

藝術家:46位藝術文學士課程之應屆畢業生

日期:2016年1月24日至2月15日*

*展覽於農曆年初一至初三(2月8至10日)期間暫停開放

每日開放時間:早上10時至晚上8時

地點: 灣仔港灣道2號香港藝術中心4及5樓包氏畫廊

備註: 免費入場