Our Acting Director


Prof. CHAN Yuk Keung Kurt
Acting Director, Hong Kong Art School


Prof. Chan was graduated from the Department of Fine Arts, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. He then obtained his M.F.A. from the Cranbrook Academy of Art, Michigan, U.S.A.

Prior to joining Hong Kong Art School, Prof. Chan worked at The Chinese University of Hong Kong between 1989 and 2016; he was involved in teaching studio courses, coordinating M.A. program and supervising M.F.A. students.

Kurt is an artist as well as an educator, his research interests cover a wide range of topics such as Hong Kong Art, Art in public realm and mixed media, whereas the outputs mostly presented as exhibition, curatorship, and publication.

Over the years, Kurt has participated in over 80 exhibitions and locally and overseas, he was one of the two artists representing Hong Kong in the 51st Venice Biennale in 2005, and was the winner of Public Art Scheme competition in 1999. Starting from the millennium, his research focus gradually developed towards public art that he had helped to realize City Art Square next to Shatin Town Hall 2008, and consulted on the Public Creatives of East Kowloon District in 2017.

Kurt is also the editor in chief/ co-editor of "The Hong Kong Visual Art Yearbook 1999, 2000, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009", commissioned by Hong Kong Arts Development Council.

Kurt is holding advisory positions in various local arts and cultural organizations, including Para/Site Art Space, Rooftop Institute, Hong Kong Shau Kee School of Creativity, Hong Kong Arts Development Council, Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Yale-China Association, and Asian Art Archive.

學院署理院長


陳育強教授
香港藝術學院署理院長

陳育強教授畢業於香港中文大學藝術系,其後於美國鶴溪藝術學院獲藝術碩士學位。在加入香港藝術學院前,陳育強教授於香港中文大學藝術系任教達27年(1989至2016年),他負責教授藝術工作室創作的課堂、統籌藝術文學碩士課程及督導藝術碩士生。

陳教授是一位藝術家,也是一位教育工作者。他的研究興趣廣泛,包括香港藝術、公共藝術及混合媒介等,他的研究成果多以展覽,策展和出版刊物形式發表。

歷年來,陳教授共參加了80多項本地及海外展覽。他於1999年「公眾藝術計劃」公開比賽獲獎;在2005年第51屆威尼斯雙年展,他更是兩位香港代表的參展人之一。踏入千禧世代,陳教授熱衷於研究公共藝術。在2008 年,他參與了落實毗鄰沙田大會堂的「城市藝坊」優化計劃,其後更於2017年擔任九龍東的公共創意顧問。

陳教授曾於1999, 2000, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009獲香港藝術發展局委任為《香港視覺藝術年鑑》的總編輯/聯合編輯。

他現擔任多個藝術及文化機構的顧問,包括: ParaSite藝術空間、Rooftop Institute、香港兆基創意書院、香港藝術發展局、雅禮協會及亞洲藝術文獻庫等。