5

轉變中的藝評人角色

課程特色
過去數十年來,藝評人的角色發生變化,由品味專家變成論述的助論者,甚至帶領作品跨越藝術邊界,尋找適當的社會或政治位置。逐漸脫離藝術史的藝評,擴闊了賞析藝術的方法和面向。當社會學及文化研究的語言進入藝評之後,藝評人眼中的藝術品亦增添了更多的社會意義。

此講座系列將會以幾位在二十及本世紀具影響力的藝評家為例,介紹藝評如何扮演藝術潮流的前鋒或後衛的角色,包括:
• 品味的專家
• 藝術哲學
• 策展轉向
• 新潮流的助論者

並透過分享閱讀以下藝評家/學者論著,了解思想進路,包括:Clement Greenberg,Arthur Danto,Harald Szeemann,Boris Groys, Nato Thompson,Claire Bishop,Kester Grant等等。

有興趣寫藝評的人士可透過講座認識不同的藝評切入點,從事藝術創作的則可了解藝術家和藝評人如何互相協助,推動藝術潮流的發展。

課程編號
23-PS000040-1AP

導師
李海燕
藝術編輯、評論、獨立製作人;香港藝術發展局顧問(評論)及審批員(藝術行政、舞蹈、評論)。論文及評論散見於港、澳、台、德刊物及網媒。近年參與的藝術研究及出版計劃包括:

http://leehoiyin.weebly.com/

課堂
4

名額
25

日期
10/1/2023 – 7/2/2023 (星期二)
假期 24/1/2023

時間
7:30pm – 9:30pm

教學語言
粵語

費用
HKD 1,680

5

The Changing Role of Art Critics

COURSE FEATURES
The role of the critic has been rapidly changing in the last few decades. From a connoisseur of taste, s/he is becoming a promoter of art discourse and an agent to positioning the arts in societal or political contexts. More and more detached from art history, the purpose of art criticism evolves from dictating to breaking the threshold of taste camps. As sociology and cultural studies languages are introduced to art criticism, the art reviewed by art critics have further bearings on the society as a whole.

By introducing a few influential art critics and their propositions, this lecture series looks at how some of the major western art critics in the 20th and 21st centuries have played the roles of vanguards and defenders of artistic trends, such as:
• The connoisseur of taste
• The philosophy of art
• ‘Curatorial turn’
• Promoter of new art trends

Writings of critics/ art historians, including Clement Greenberg, Arthur Danto, Harald Szeemann, Boris Groys, Nato Thompson, Claire Bishop, and Kester Grant will be studied during class for a better understanding of their line of thoughts.

This lecture series will give an overview to emerging critics of different approaches to art criticism, and the roles of critics in contemporary society. Those involved in art-making will gain an idea of how artists and critics work as collaborators in pushing forward vision and discourse of the arts.

COURSE CODE
23-PS000017-1AP

TUTOR
Joanna LEE Hoi Yin
Art editor, critic, and producer, Hong Kong Arts Development Council advisor (art critic group), assessor (arts administration, dance, and art critic groups). Her essays and reviews have been published in printed and online publications in HK, Macau, Taiwan and Germany. Recent research and publishing projects include:

http://leehoiyin.weebly.com/

CLASS
4

ENROL LIMIT
25

PERIOD
10/1/2023 – 7/2/2023 (TUE)
Holiday 24/1/2023

TIME
7:30pm – 9:30pm

LANGUAGE
Cantonese

FEE
HKD 1,680